echoes

 

So I recently read a book by Margaret Feinberg called ‘The Sacred Echo.’ Having heard her speak over a year ago at theMill, the college service at New Life Church, I originally ran across the book in the bargain section of this cheesy Christian bookstore and had to buy it. What can I say? I’m a sucker for the sale sticker.

Her book, like her talk, reminded me that our God speaks to us. And repeats Himself. Over and over and over.

He’s almost like the Verizon guy, saying “Can you hear me now? Can you hear me now? Good.” There are just some things that God refuses to let us tune out, that He insists we hear. Because only if we listen, it is good. And not just kind of good. Not just the sort-of-okay-Monday-morning-good. Good as He intended it. Good like He repeats over and over as He created this world.

So repetition seems to be His cup of tea. I’m fairly thankful for it, because I need to hear something a ridiculous amount of times to be able to remember anything. I am the person that has to listen to a song over 50 times in order to memorize the lyrics. It helps if I look them up online and read along too.

Anyway, after reading this book, I got to thinking…What sort of things has God been echoing in my life? What things always come up? And as I thought about it more and more, I realized there have been a handful of phrases that I hear constantly from the Lord.

They are the following:

I will never abandon you…

Joshua 1:9     “Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous. Do not be terrified; do not be discouraged, for the LORD your God will be with you wherever you go.”

You are my child…

Romans 8:14-17     14 For those who are led by the Spirit of God are the children of God. 15 The Spirit you received does not make you slaves, so that you live in fear again; rather, the Spirit you received brought about your adoption to sonship. And by him we cry, “Abba, Father.” 16 The Spirit himself testifies with our spirit that we are God’s children. 17 Now if we are children, then we are heirs—heirs of God and co-heirs with Christ, if indeed we share in his sufferings in order that we may also share in his glory.

Let me love you…

Song of Songs 2:14      My dove in the clefts of the rock, in the hiding places on the mountainside, show me your face, let me hear your voice; for your voice is sweet, and your face is lovely.

I still love you when you fail…

Romans 8:37-39     37 No, in all these things we are more than conquerors through him who loved us. 38For I am convinced that neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons, neither the present nor the future, nor any powers, 39 neither height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God that is in Christ Jesus our Lord.

You will come when I call…

1 Samuel 3:4    4 Then the LORD called Samuel. Samuel answered, “Here I am.”

As I wrote these out, I remembered each of the times I first heard them. They were mere moments, but have changed my life forever. Each has echoed around my heart without fading into the distance, and each surprise me each time I hear them. God is funny like that… His constant perseverance to be heard and acknowledged and loved in my life will continue to mold me more into His image.

Leave a Reply

